This oral history interview is an intimate conversation between two people, both of whom have generously agreed to share this recording with Oral History Summer School, and with you. Please listen in the spirit with which this was shared.

This interview is hereby made available for research purposes only. For additional uses (radio and other media, music, internet), please inquire about permissions.

All rights are reserved by Oral History Summer School.

Researchers will understand that:

  • Oral History Summer School abides by the General Principles & Best Practices for Oral History as agreed upon by the Oral History Association (2018) and expects that use of this material will be done with respect for these professional ethics.
  • Unless verbal patterns are germane to your scholarly work, when quoting from this material researchers are encouraged to correct the grammar and make other modifications maintaining the flavor of the narrator’s speech while editing the material for the standards of print.
  • All citations must be attributed to Oral History Summer School:
    Narrator’s Name, Oral history interview, YYYY, Oral History Summer School

Deidre Grant

June 9, 2013


Hudson, NY


Recorded by

Emily Gallagher

This interview is available in-person only. Please get in touch if you would like to listen.
Is this your interview?
Click here to respond.

Deirdre Grant is a mature student at Hawthorne University studying agriculture and a social & environmental justice activist. She is a 65 year old black woman and is married to Phil Grant, also in the archive. She has lived just outside Hudson for three years. In this interview she discusses her Childhood growing up in Pennsylvania's Appalachia where she was raised by her entrepreneurial Grandmother and in Brooklyn with her mother. Her adulthood was spent in Queens and Long Island before finally finding “home” in Columbia County. People who might be interested in this interview include those interested in: PA Appalachia, urban to rural migration, rural to urban migration, the Manhattan Project, environmental justice, racism, segregation, women's history, mothers, Hudson transplants, progressive agriculture.

Interviewer Bio:
Emily Gallagher

I am a 29 year old white female at the time this interview was conducted. I am a project participant because of my enrollment in Oral History Summer School, which I've attended both for personal projects as well as for my work at the Lower East Side Tenement Museum in New York City. I live in Brooklyn, New York and work there as a social public history educator and community organizer.

Additional Info:
Interview language(s):
Audio quality:

Audio Quality Scale

Low - There is some background noise and the narrator is hard to hear.

Medium - There is background noise, but the narrator is audible.

High - There is little background noise and the narrator is audible.


This interview is hereby made available for research purposes only. For additional uses (radio and other media, music, internet), please click here to inquire about permissions.

Part of this interview may be played in a radio broadcast or podcast.

Oral history is an iterative process. In keeping with oral history values of anti-fixity, interviewees will have an opportunity to add, annotate and reflect upon their lives and interviews in perpetuity. Talking back to the archive is a form of “shared authority.”

Is this your interview?
Click here
to leave updates or reflections on your life, your interview or your listening experience.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.