This oral history interview is an intimate conversation between two people, both of whom have generously agreed to share this recording with Oral History Summer School, and with you. Please listen in the spirit with which this was shared.

This interview is hereby made available for research purposes only. For additional uses (radio and other media, music, internet), please inquire about permissions.

All rights are reserved by Oral History Summer School.

Researchers will understand that:

  • Oral History Summer School abides by the General Principles & Best Practices for Oral History as agreed upon by the Oral History Association (2018) and expects that use of this material will be done with respect for these professional ethics.
  • Unless verbal patterns are germane to your scholarly work, when quoting from this material researchers are encouraged to correct the grammar and make other modifications maintaining the flavor of the narrator’s speech while editing the material for the standards of print.
  • All citations must be attributed to Oral History Summer School:
    Narrator’s Name, Oral history interview, YYYY, Oral History Summer School


October 9, 2022


Hillsdale, NY


Recorded by

Molly Pearson

This interview is available in-person only. Please get in touch if you would like to listen.
Is this your interview?
Click here to respond.

This interview was conducted with joaquín on October 9, 2022 in Hillsdale, NY. Joaquin begins by talking about growing up in Brooklyn, NY with two parents and three older brothers. They go on to speak about their chosen family, who they identify as their close friends, specifically speaking about a friend named Sierra from childhood. They describe the process of building community around their relationship with disability and being part of a care network and the emergence of their disability and their diagnosis. Joaquín is learning what kind of friend they want to be and describes their love language as hosting gatherings. They speaks on their avoidance of the term ‘queer community.’ Joaquín talks about growing up with a father in the communist party who tried to foster their politics, such as supporting a high school brigade to Cuba. Joaquín describes an average day in their life including waking up slowly and working at an art museum, both remotely and in person. They talk about liking art because they like being around people who make art and think of artistic spaces as community spaces. Joaquín has recently been involved in political work through Parole Projects and Critical Resistance hotline and speak of finding a political home in abolition and bodily autonomy and being in the school of this kind of work. They end with describing their love of swimming in all weather and especially in the ocean and how their cat Jupiter came into their life.

No items found.
Interviewer Bio:
Molly Pearson
Additional Info:
Interview language(s):
Audio quality:

Audio Quality Scale

Low - There is some background noise and the narrator is hard to hear.

Medium - There is background noise, but the narrator is audible.

High - There is little background noise and the narrator is audible.


This interview is hereby made available for research purposes only. For additional uses (radio and other media, music, internet), please click here to inquire about permissions.

Part of this interview may be played in a radio broadcast or podcast.

Oral history is an iterative process. In keeping with oral history values of anti-fixity, interviewees will have an opportunity to add, annotate and reflect upon their lives and interviews in perpetuity. Talking back to the archive is a form of “shared authority.”

Is this your interview?
Click here
to leave updates or reflections on your life, your interview or your listening experience.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.